Automatic Voter Registration Is Bipartisan

Posted on September 2, 2016


At Common Cause Illinois, we believe that making our democracy work for everyone shouldn’t be a partisan issue.


Automatic Voter Registration is one of those solutions. When SB250 passed the Illinois state legislature, it drew overwhelming bipartisan support. 50 out of 59 Illinois state senators voted in favor of automatic voter registration. The vote in the Illinois House was just as impressive; 86 out of 118 representatives from both sides of the aisle voted for Automatic Voter Registration.


Lawmakers from both parties recognized that providing two million eligible voters access to the ballot box was the right thing to do. They recognized that simplifying the registration process would save the state money, clean up the voter rolls, and shorten lines on Election Day. Automatic voter registration is as common sense as it gets.


Governor Rauner, however, is more concerned about his own reelection chances than pursuing bipartisan solutions. The governor’s veto of Automatic Voter Registration last week flies in the face of the Republican Party’s commitment to streamlining state government. It goes against the Republican Party’s stated goal of empowering the individual, by denying almost two million people their fundamental right to vote. By going against the convictions of almost thirty Republicans in the state legislature, Governor Rauner is betraying his own party and playing politics with voting rights, and that’s just wrong.


Here is a list of all of the state legislators from both parties that supported this bill. Call them today to thank them for their vote and urge them to support the override in November.


Antonio Muñoz

D (1)

amunoz@senatedem.state.il.us

(217) 782-9415

(773) 869-9050

John G. Mulroe

D (10)

jmulroe@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-1035

(773) 763-3810

Martin A. Sandoval

D (11)

msandoval@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-5304

(708) 656-2002

Kwame Raoul

D (13)

kraoul@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-5338

(773) 363-1996

Emil Jones, III

D (14)

ejones@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-9573

(773) 995-7748

Napoleon Harris, III

D (15)

nharris@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-8066

(708) 893-0552

Jacqueline Y. Collins

D (16)

senatorcollins@sbcglobal.net

(217) 782-1607

(773) 224-2830

Donne E. Trotter

D (17)

senatortrotter@yahoo.com

(217) 782-3201

(773) 933-7715

Bill Cunningham

D (18)

staterepbillcunningham@gmail.com

(217) 782-5145

(773) 445-8128

Michael E. Hastings

D (19)

hastings@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-9595

(708) 283-4125

William Delgado

D (2)

wdelgado@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-5652

(773) 292-0202

Iris Y. Martinez

D (20)

ilsenate20@sbcglobal.net

(217) 782-8191

(773) 278-2020

Michael Noland

D (22)

noland22@senatedem.illinois.gov

(217) 782-7746

(847) 214-8864

Thomas Cullerton

D (23)

tcullerton@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-9463

(630) 903-6662

Laura M. Murphy

D (28)

laura@senatorlauramurphy.com

(217) 782-3875

(847) 656-5414

Julie A. Morrison

D (29)

jmorrison@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-3650

(847) 945-5200

Mattie Hunter

D (3)

mhunter@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-5966

(312) 949-1908

Terry Link

D (30)

tlink@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-8181

(847) 623-3006

Melinda Bush

D (31)

melinda@senatormelindabush.com

(217) 782-7353

(847) 548-5631

Steve Stadelman

D (34)

stadelman@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-8022

(815) 987-7557

Don Harmon

D (39)

dharmon@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-8176

(708) 848-2002

Kimberly A. Lightford

D (4)

statesenatorlightford@comcast.net

(217) 782-8505

(708) 343-7444

Toi W. Hutchinson

D (40)

thutchinson@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-7419

(708) 756-0882

Linda Holmes

D (42)

holmes@senatedem.illinois.gov

(217) 782-0422

(630) 801-8985

Pat McGuire

D (43)

senatorpatmcguire@sbcglobal.net

(217) 782-8800

(815) 207-4445

David Koehler

D (46)

dkoehler@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-8250

(309) 677-0120

John M. Sullivan

D (47)

jsullivan@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-2479

(217) 222-2295

Andy Manar

D (48)

amanar@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-0228

(618) 585-4848

Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant

D (49)

bertinotarrant49@att.net

(217) 782-0052

(815) 254-4211

Patricia Van Pelt

D (5)

kevie.lusby@gmail.com

(217) 782-6252

(312) 888-9191

Scott M. Bennett

D (52)

phardge@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-2507

(217) 355-5252

William R. Haine

D (56)

whaine@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-5247

(618) 465-4764

Gary Forby

D (59)

gforby@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-5509

(618) 439-2504

John J. Cullerton

D (6)

jcullerton@senatedem.illinois.gov

(217) 782-2728

(773) 883-0770

Heather A. Steans

D (7)

hsteans@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-8492

(773) 769-1717

Ira I. Silverstein

D (8)

isilverstein@senatedem.ilga.gov

(217) 782-5500

(773) 743-5015

Daniel Biss

D (9)

daniel@danielbiss.com

(217) 782-2119

(847) 568-1250

Chris Nybo

R (24)

chris.nybo@gmail.com

(217) 782-8148

(630) 969-0990

Dan McConchie

R (26)

dan@senatormcconchie.com

(217) 782-8010

(224) 662-4544

Pamela J. Althoff

R (32)

pamela@pamelaalthoff.net

(217) 782-8000

(815) 455-6330

Karen McConnaughay

R (33)

kmcconnaughay@kanecoboard.org

(217) 782-1977

(847) 214-8245

Dave Syverson

R (35)

info@senatordavesyverson.com

(217) 782-5413

(815) 987-7555

Neil Anderson

R (36)

moffett36thdistrict@gmail.com (assistant)

(217) 782-5957

(309) 736-7084

Sue Rezin

R (38)

senatorrezin@gmail.com

(217) 782-3840

(815) 220-8720

Christine Radogno

R (41)

christine@senatorradogno.com

(217) 782-9407

(630) 243-0800

William E. Brady

R (44)

billbrady@senatorbillbrady.com

(217) 782-6216

(309) 664-4440

Wm. Sam McCann

R (50)

senatormccan@gmail.com

(217) 782-8206

(217) 245-0050

Chapin Rose

R (51)

ls@chapinrose.net

(217) 558-1006

(217) 607-1853

Jason A. Barickman

R (53)

jason@jasonbarickman.com

(217) 782-6597

(309) 661-2788

Kyle McCarter

R (54)

senatormccarter@gmail.com

(217) 782-5755

(618) 283-3000

David S. Luechtefeld

R (58)

sendavel@midwest.net

(217) 782-8137

(618) 243-9014



State Representatives: Yay


Daniel J. Burke

D (1)

burkedj2@ilga.gov

(217) 782-1117

(773) 471-2299

Pamela Reaves-Harris

D (10)

repreavesharris@gmail.com

(217) 782-8077

(312) 877-5074

Carol Ammons

D (103)

Assistance@StateRepCarolAmmons.com

(217) 558-1009

(217) 531-1660

Ann M. Williams

D (11)

ann@repannwilliams.com

(217) 782-2458

(773) 880-9082

Daniel V. Beiser

D (111)

dvbeiser@sbcglobal.net

(217) 782-5996

(618) 465-5900

Jay Hoffman

D (113)

repjayhoffman@gmail.com

(217) 782-0104

(618) 416-7407

Eddie Lee Jackson, Sr.

D (114)

eljackson34@gmail.com

(217) 782-5951

(618) 875-9950

Jerry Costello, II

D (116)

staterepcostello@gmail.com

(217) 782-1018

(618) 282-7284

John Bradley

D (117)

repjohnbradley@mychoice.net

(217) 782-1051

(618) 997-9697

Brandon W. Phelps

D (118)

bphelps118@gmail.com

(217) 782-5131

(618) 253-4189

Sara Feigenholtz

D (12)

sara@staterepsara.com

(217) 782-8062

(773) 296-4141

Gregory Harris

D (13)

greg@gregharris.org

(217) 782-3835

(773) 348-3434

Kelly M. Cassidy

D (14)

repcassidy@gmail.com

(217) 782-8088

773) 784-2002

John C. D'Amico

D (15)

johnd@ilga.gov

(217) 782-8198

(773) 736-0218

Lou Lang

D (16)

langli@ilga.gov

(217) 782-1252

(847) 673-1131

Laura Fine

D (17)

repfine@gmail.com

(217) 782-4194

(847) 998-1717

Robyn Gabel

D (18)

staterepgabel@robyngabel.com

(217) 782-8052

(847) 424-9898

Robert Martwick

D (19)

repmartwick@gmail.com

(217) 782-8400

(773) 286-1115

Edward J. Acevedo

D (2)

eacevedoed@ilga.gov

(217) 782-2855

(773) 843-1500

Silvana Tabares

D (21)

rep.tabares@gmail.com

(217) 782-7752

(773) 522-1315

Michael J. Madigan

D (22)

mmadigan@hds.ilga.gov

(217) 782-5350

(773) 581-8000

Michael J. Zalewski

D (23)

info@repmikezalewski.org

(217) 782-5280

(708) 442-6500

Elizabeth Hernandez

D (24)

repehernandez@yahoo.com

(217) 782-8173

(708) 222-5240

Barbara Flynn Currie

D (25)

repcurrie@sbcglobal.net

(217) 782-8121

(773) 667-0550

Christian L. Mitchell

D (26)

MitchellDistrict26@att.net

(217) 782-2023

(773) 924-1755

Monique D. Davis

D (27)

davismd@ilga.gov

(217) 782-0010

(773) 445-9700

Robert Rita

D (28)

robertbobrita@aol.com

(217) 558-1000

(708) 396-2822

Thaddeus Jones

D (29)

repjones.jones@gmail.com

(217) 782-8087

(708) 933-6018

Luis Arroyo

D (3)

RepDistrict3@gmail.com

(217) 782-0480

(773) 637-2000

William Davis

D (30)

williamd@ilga.gov

(217) 782-8197

(708) 799-7300

Mary E. Flowers

D (31)

maryeflowers@ilga.gov

(217) 782-4207

(773) 471-5200

André Thapedi

D (32)

illinois32district@gmail.com

(217) 782-1702

(773) 581-9250

Marcus C. Evans, Jr.

D (33)

Repevans33@gmail.com

(217) 782-8272

(773) 783-8492

Elgie R. Sims, Jr.

D (34)

Repsims34@gmail.com

(217) 782-6476

(773) 783-8800

Frances Ann Hurley

D (35)

repfranhurley@gmail.com

(217) 782-8200

(773) 445-8128

Kelly M. Burke

D (36)

kburke@kellyburkerep36.org

(217) 782-0515

(708) 425-0571

Al Riley

D (38)

rep.riley38@sbcglobal.net

(217) 558-1007

(708) 799-4364

Will Guzzardi

D (39)

will@repguzzardi.com

(217) 558-1032

(773) 227-9720

Cynthia Soto

D (4)

4repsoto@gmail.com

(217) 782-0150

(773) 252-0402

Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.

D (40)

staterep40@gmail.com

(217) 782-8117

(773) 267-2880

Anna Moeller

D (43)

staterepmoeller@gmail.com

(217) 782-8020

(847) 841-7130

Fred Crespo

D (44)

fred@fredcrespo.com

(217) 782-0347

(630) 372-3340

Deb Conroy

D (46)

repdebconroy@gmail.com

(217) 782-8158

(630) 415-3520

Kenneth Dunkin

D (5)

info@repkendunkin.com

(217) 782-4535

(773) 363-1411

Martin J. Moylan

D (55)

staterepmoylan@gmail.com

(217) 782-8007

(847) 635-6821

Michelle Mussman

D (56)

staterepmussman@gmail.com

(217) 782-3725

(847) 923-9104

Elaine Nekritz

D (57)

enekritz@repnekritz.org

(217) 558-1004

(847) 229-5499

Scott Drury

D (58)

repdrury@gmail.com

(217) 782-0902

(847) 681-8580

Carol Sente

D (59)

repsente@gmail.com

(217) 782-0499

(847) 478-9909

Sonya M. Harper

D (6)

repsonyaharper@gmail.com

(217) 782-5971

(773) 925-6580

Rita Mayfield

D (60)

60thdistrict@gmail.com

(217) 558-1012

(847) 599-2800

Sam Yingling

D (62)

repsamyingling@gmail.com

(217) 782-7320

(847) 231-6262

Jack D. Franks

D (63)

jack@jackfranks.org

(217) 782-1717

(815) 334-0063

Litesa E. Wallace

D (67)

Litesa@StateRepWallace.com

(217) 782-3167

(815) 987-7433

Emanuel Chris Welch

D (7)

repwelch@emanuelchriswelch.com

(217) 782-8120

(708) 450-1000

Mike Smiddy

D (71)

RepSmiddy@gmail.com

(217) 782-3992

(309) 848-9098

Patrick J. Verschoore

D (72)

repverschoore@72nddistrict.org

(217) 782-5970

(309) 558-3612

Andrew F Skoog

D (76)

Repskoog@gmail.com

217) 782-0140

(815) 780-8720

Kathleen Willis

D (77)

repwillis77@gmail.com

(217) 782-3374

(708) 562-6970

Camille Y. Lilly

D (78)

staterepcamilleylilly@gmail.com

(217) 782-6400

(773) 473-7300

Katherine Cloonen

D (79)

staterepcloonen79@att.net

(217) 782-5981

(815) 939-1983

La Shawn K. Ford

D (8)

repford@lashawnford.com

(217) 782-5962

(773) 378-5902

Anthony DeLuca

D (80)

repdeluca@sbcglobal.net

(217) 782-1719

(708) 754-7900

Linda Chapa LaVia

D (83)

chapa-laviali@ilga.gov

(217) 558-1002

(630) 264-6855

Stephanie A. Kifowit

D (84)

stephanie.kifowit@att.net

(217) 782-8028

(630) 585-1308

Emily McAsey

D (85)

repemily@gmail.com

(217) 782-4179

(815) 372-0085

Lawrence Walsh, Jr.

D (86)

statereplarrywalshjr@gmail.com

(217) 782-8090

(815) 730-8600

Arthur Turner

D (9)

arthurt@ilga.gov

(217) 782-8116

(773) 277-4700

Jehan Gordon-Booth

D (92)

repjgordon@gmail.com

(217) 782-3186

(309) 681-1992

Sue Scherer

D (96)

staterepsue@gmail.com

(217) 524-0353

(217) 877-9636

Natalie A. Manley

D (98)

repmanley@gmail.com

(217) 558-1012

(847) 599-2800

C.D. Davidsmeyer

R (100)

repcddavidsmeyer@gmail.com

(217) 782-1840

(217) 243-6221

Chad Hays

R (104)

chad@rephays.com

(217) 782-4811

(217) 477-0104

Thomas M. Bennett

R (106)

tom@tom4illinois.com

(217) 558-1039

(815) 844-9179

Terri Bryant

R (115)

staterepterribryant@gmail.com

(217) 782-0387

(618) 242-8115

Michael P. McAuliffe

R (20)

mmcauliffe20@yahoo.com

(217) 782-8182

(773) 444-0611

Ed Sullivan

R (51)

ILhouse51@sbcglobal.net

(217) 782-3696

847) 566-5115

Michael W. Tryon

R (66)

tryon@ilhousegop.org

(217) 782-0432

815) 459-6453

Robert W. Pritchard

R (70)

bob@pritchardstaterep.com

(217) 782-0425

(815) 748-3494

Donald L. Moffitt

R (74)

moffitt@grics.net

(217) 782-8032

(309) 343-8000

Ron Sandack

R (81)

repsandack@gmail.com

(217) 782-6578

(630) 737-0504

Tom Demmer

R (90)

demmer@ilhousegop.org

(217) 782-0535

(815) 561-3690

Michael D. Unes

R (91)

repunes@gmail.com

(217) 782-8152

(309) 620-8631

Norine K. Hammond

R (93)

rephammond@macomb.com

(217) 782-0416

(309) 836-2707

Sara Wojcicki Jimenez

R (99)

rpoe@hrs.ilga.gov

(217) 782-0044

(217) 782-0044

Office: Common Cause Illinois, Common Cause National

Issues: Voting and Elections, Voting and Elections

Tags: Automatic Voter Registration

Leave a Comment

  Get news & updates

 

 

*

 

 

If you respond and have not already registered, you will receive periodic updates and communications from Common Cause.

 

What's this?

   Please leave this field empty

Take Action

The Supreme Court gutted a key provision of the Voting Rights Act.

Tell Congress to fix the court’s bad decision!

Take action.

Donate

Give Today