Common Cause Illinois 2017 Champions of Democracy

Event Details

March 6, 2017, 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

City Winery

Chicago, Illinois

Register ›

Map It ›

In a moment when democracy is being challenged more than at any time in modern political history, our role is more important than ever. Common Cause is our voice as We the People work together to form a more perfect Union, to establish Justice, to build a 21st century democracy here in Illinois and the nation. On March 6, let's join together in this movement: let’s celebrate individuals making a difference, and gain strength from our collective dedication and vision. Please join us to honor the 2017 Champions of Democracy.

Wendy Fields
As the executive director of the Democracy Initiative Fund, Wendy Fields continues to champion the full promise of American democracy, building on two decades in leadership at the United Automobile Workers (UAW) in Detroit, and time as a Common Cause Organizer.

Representative Theresa Mah
Theresa Mah recently won her campaign to represent the 2nd District and will become the first Asian-American state legislator in Illinois. As a former senior policy adviser to Gov. Pat Quinn, Mah’s leadership helped to create jobs and education opportunities for working families, including many immigrants.

Senator Andy Manar
Senator Manar represents the 48th district in Illinois and has been a leader in building bi-partisan support for voter access, fair school funding, and civil rights. In 2016, he led the charge for an automatic voter registration bill that initially passed with bi-partisan support in the Senate and House.

Trevor Potter
Former chairman of the Federal Election Commission, founder and president of the Campaign Legal Center, and the lawyer for Stephen Colbert's 2012 campaign super PAC, Trevor Potter is "one of the top lawyers in the country on the delicate intersection of politics, law, and money."

Emcee: Natalie Moore, WBEZ’s South Side Reporter, Author of The South Side: A Portrait of Chicago and American Segregation.

Host Committee Chairs

Corky and Holly Siegel

Elizabeth Foster and Michael Walsh

Take Action

The Supreme Court gutted a key provision of the Voting Rights Act.

Tell Congress to fix the court’s bad decision!

Take action.


Give Today