About Us

Common Cause National Governing Board



Robert Reich is the Chair of the National Governing Board (read the Sept. 7, 2010 announcement).
Martha Tierney is the Vice Chair.

Archibald Cox was Chairman Emeritus.


Full List of board members: 

Ric Bainter
Attorney; Former Chair, Common Cause California
San Diego, CA

Craig Barnes, Esq.
Author, playwright, radio host; Founder, Common Cause Colorado
Santa Fe, NM

Olena Berg
Placitas, New Mexico

Emmet Bondurant
Sr. Partner, Bondurant, Mixson & Elsmore
Atlanta, GA

Cornell William Brooks, Esq.
President and Chief Executive Officer, The New Jersey Institute for Social Justice
Newark, NJ

Peter Butzin
Chair, Common Cause/Florida
Tallahassee, FL

Gloria Rubio-Cortes
National Civic League
Denver, CO

Dan Conley
Beacon Communications
Chicago, Illinois

Butler Derrick
Partner, Nelson Mullins
Washington, DC

William Hubbard

Center Development Corp.

New York, NY

Olga Kauffman
Director of Development & Community Affairs, Mexican American Unity Council
San Antonio, TX

Marilyn Melkonian
Telesis Corporation
Washington, DC


Lenny Mendonca

Director, McKinsey and Co.

San Francisco, CA

Angela Onwuachi-Willig
Charles M. and Marion J. Kierscht Professor of Law, University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA


Chang K. Park

Founder and President, Universal Remote Control

Armonk, NY

Jamie Phillippe
Vice President, The Chicago Community Trust
Chicago, IL   

Nancy Ratzan
President, National Council of Jewish Women
Miami, FL

Robert Reich
Professor, University of California at Berkeley
Berkeley, CA


Patricia S. Schroeder

Former Member of Congress

Celebration, FL


Richard Stanley

Chairman, The Stanley Foundation

Muscatine, IA


Margery Teller

Chicago, IL


Wes Tomer, CPA
Director, Veris Consulting, Inc.
Reston, Virginia 


Martha Tierney*

Heizer, Paul, Grueskin LLP

Denver, CO

Alan Wiersba
Product Manager, Oracle Corp.
Redwood City, CA


*Also serves on the Common Cause Education Fund Board.