Gerrymander Standard: 2015 Winners and Judges


Winning Papers

The final versions of each of our inaugural winning papers were published in Election Law Journal in December of 2015. 

1st place - Michael D. McDonald and Robin E. Best of Binghamton University (SUNY), authors of  “Unfair Partisan Gerrymanders in Politics and Law: A Diagnostic Applied to Six Cases”

2nd place - Jowei Chen from the University of Michigan and Jonathan Rodden of Stanford University, authors of  “Cutting through the Thicket: Redistricting Simulations and the Detection of Partisan Gerrymanders”

3rd place - Anthony McGann from the University of Strathclyde, Charles Anthony Smith and Alex Keena from UC Irvine, and Michael Latner from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, authors of “A Discernable and Manageable Standard for Partisan Gerrymandering"

Judging Panel

Norm Ornstein (co-chair) – Resident Scholar at the American Enterprise Institute

Dan Tokaji (co-chair) – Charles W. Ebersold and Florence Whitcomb Ebersold Professor of Constitutional Law and Senior Fellow for Election Law at The Ohio State University’s Moritz College of Law

Jocelyn Benson – Dean of Wayne State University Law School; chair of Common Cause Michigan

Guy-Uriel Charles – Charles S. Rhyne Professor of Law; Senior Associate Dean for Faculty & Research; and founding director of the Duke Law Center on Law, Race and Politics at Duke Law School

Allison Hayward – Board member of the Office of Congressional Ethics; former Vice President of Policy at the Center for Competitive Politics and counsel to FEC Commissioner Bradley Smith

Derek Muller – Associate Professor at Pepperdine University School of Law 

Take Action

The Supreme Court gutted a key provision of the Voting Rights Act.

Tell Congress to fix the court’s bad decision!

Take action.


Give Today

Join the Community

Find Common Cause Activists in your area.

Add Me to the Map